Leaders in Banking Excellence

Leaders in Banking Excellence is a celebration of exceptional bankers throughout Tennessee’s history. This is an opportunity to honor those leaders who have helped shape the Tennessee banking industry through permanent recognition in the building’s structure.

TBA will accept applications from all member banks. Leaders in Banking Excellence is open to Tennessee bankers who have excelled in one or more of the following areas:

  • Banking
  • Community service
  • Civic involvement


The TBA board of directors carefully reviews all recommendations and approves bankers who exemplify the values of the Tennessee Bankers Association.

Leaders in Banking Excellence honorees are permanently displayed in the TBA headquarters. Due to the prominent location of the Leaders in Banking Excellence display, the honorees are viewed by all TBA visitors, including TBA members, Financial PSI customers, and members of other organizations using the Barrett Training Center.

Honored Leaders in Banking Excellence

Katie S. Winchester

2020 Read Bio

Charles P. Wilson

Paul G. Willson

Hugh M. Willson

Eddie Whitlow

Charles Herbert Whitfield, Sr.

Steve White

Con T. Welch

Daniel M. Weber

Jack O. Weatherford

John R. Wallace

Robert T. VanHooser

M. Terry Turner

Claire Whitfield Tucker

Billy B. Tines

W.H. Swain, Sr

Michael B. Swain

Sammy Stuard

Donna Stone

T. Randy Stevens

William “Bill” Smith

C. Ann Smith

Debbie Cole Small

James Sam Short

Wayne Shirley

James H. “Preacher” Shelton

Gary L. Scott

Ronald L. Samuels

Oscar Robertson

H. Elmer Richerson

James A. Rainey

R. Stan Puckett

Scott L. Probasco, Jr.

Kenneth W. Plunk

Tim Pettus

David R. Nunn

John H. Muse

Donald E. Moser

Virgil H. Moore, Jr.

F. Stephen (Steve) Miller

William B. Marsh

Gordon Majors

W. David Major

J. N. “Nick” McGuire, Jr.

Sydney C. McGrew

William E. “Willie” McDonald

Robert A. McCabe, Jr.

Ed C. Loughry, Jr.

Gaynell Lawson

Fred R. Lawson

Joe LaPorte, Jr.

Charles C. King, III

Ben S. Kimbrough

Keith A. Ketterman

Robert W. Jones

Gordon E. Inman

Kenneth C. Howell

Meade C. Hopkins

James W. “Jim” Holmes

Billy F. Hicks

Waymon L. Hickman

Thomas Hayes

Rick Hart

Martin L. Haggard, Sr.

Larry M. Haggard

Dotson R. Guinn

William “Bill” Greene, Jr.

Charles R. Gleghorn

Thomas M. Garrott

R. Molitor Ford, Sr.

Sam Fleming

James R. Fitzhugh

C. Craig Fitzhugh

James S. England

James “Jim” A. England

James E. Elder

Thomas B. Duncan

William Ron DeBerry

Charles E. Darnell

Douglas Cruickshanks, Jr.

William H. Crabtree, Sr.

Parmenas Cox

James T. “Jimmy” Cox

Randall Clemons

John C. Clark

J. Barry Cary

Billy M. Cary

William Y. Carroll, Sr.

Jack Bulliner

W.G. Birdwell, Jr.

Andrew Benedict

Bradley L. Barrett

H. Glenn Barker

James W. Ayers

George L. Atwood

Billy P. Atkins

Timothy L. Amos

William Agee